2015 Teacher of the Year Scholarship Winners Reception

Chapter Scholarship and Teacher of the Year Reception at the Space Foundation

The Chapter recognized the selections for Teacher of the Year at the reception.  Each year the Air Force Association honors teachers from across the country who are impacting the newest generation of STEM scholars.  The Space Foundation and the Challenger Learning Center assist the Chapter in the nomination process based on outstanding performance as an educator, dedication to their students and recommendations from their principals.  The Sijan Chapter is proud to announce our Teachers of the Year, Ms. Carah Barbarick and Ms. Rae Ann Dotter, who will now compete at the state level for AFA’s Colorado Teacher of the Year.  Ms. Barbarick was selected for the Kindergarten to Eight Grade category and is a teacher at the Manitou Elementary School.  She has been teaching for 12 years and is currently teaching third grade.   Ms. Dotter has been teaching for 11 years and is our selection for the Ninth to Twelfth Grade category.  She has been with the Cotopaxi Consolidated Schools for eight years. The selectees receive a monetary award from the Chapter and from AFA National in addition to a certificate, a pin and an AFA portfolio.

The reception was well attended by friends and family in Area 51 of the Space Foundation.  The Chapter is always appreciative of the support we receive from the Space Foundation and the generosity of offering Area 51 for this event.  Congratulations to all our Scholarship winners and Teachers of the Year!

Scholarship Winners
Scholarship Winners Click to View


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *