1st Quarter 2015 Newsletter

Click Pic to Download and View




Front Page Featured Article

Upcoming Competitions sponsored by the Lance P. Sijan Chapter
2015 General Bernard A. Schriever Memorial Essay Contest

The Sijan Chapter sponsors an annual essay contest for Headquarters Air Force Space Command in the name and memory of a great Air Force pioneer, General Bernard A. Schriever.  The 2014 contest was a resounding success with 20 outstanding essays submitted.

The 2015 Schriever Memorial Essay Contest is open all current Air Force military and civilian personnel, including Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard members. The purpose of the contest is to stimulate thought, discussion, and debate on matters relating to how the Air Force and Air Force Space Command  provide space and cyberspace capabilities for the Joint Force and the Nation.  The contest is a great opportunity to share ideas among space and cyber professionals. The Air and Space Power Journal will publish the top three essays with honorable mentions given to other noteworthy entries. In addition to presenting trophies to the winners, the Sijan Chapter will present monetary awards for first, second and third place winners.  The theme and guidelines will be published March 31st and papers will be due on or about July 31st.  For more information about the contest, check the chapter website after March 31st or contact the project manager, Roy Griggs, at afaschriever@gmail.com.

2015 High School and College Scholarship Opportunity

Each year the Chapter awards scholarships to outstanding high school seniors who have been accepted for enrollment at a college or university, and to current outstanding freshman, sophomore and junior students at a college or university.  Scholarships are open to family members of active duty and retired Air Force, Air Force Reserve and Air National Guard members. The Chapter scholarships are awarded based on the overall character and leadership potential of the student, which includes the academic achievement, demonstrated leadership, community service and writing composition.  There is no specified restriction on the use of the scholarship monies, however, it is the intent of the Sijan Chapter that they be utilized in the direct support of academic pursuits.  All applications must be postmarked no later than 17 April 2015 and winners will be notified no later than     May 1, 2015.  Complete application information is currently posted on the Chapter website at https://www.lancepsijanafa.org or contact the project manager at Dave.Geuting@exelisinc.com or 719-445-0607 (H) or 719-367-7485 (C).

2015 Teacher of the Year Program

Don’t forget to nominate a teacher (or two!) from your local area to be the Lance P. Sijan Teacher of the Year. This is a fantastic way to honor and reward exemplary educators in the community. The due date for Chapter and State Teacher of the Year nominations is April 1.  National Teacher of the Year nominations must be submitted by May 31. Please submit all Teacher of the Year materials to AFA Lance P. Sijan Chapter 125, PO Box 15007, Colorado Springs, CO 80935 or dave.geuting@exelisinc.com.  You can find out more about this program, including links to nomination forms as well as the State and National Teacher of the Year program, here.

This year we are excited to announce that the AFA’s Aerospace Education Council has chosen to update the award materials received in this program. The Chapter, State, and National Teachers of the Year will each receive a pin to commemorate their achievement. Chapter Teachers of the Year will now be awarded with an AFA Chapter Teacher of the Year padfolio, which will be useful in the classroom! State Teachers of the Year will continue to receive the popular embroidered windbreakers. Read more….


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *